Books, Music, Podcasts

Addicted to Audiobooks

I appear to be addicted to audiobooks – I listen while working on textile crafts, driving, walking, cooking, housecleaning, etc. I know it has truly become an addiction because I am currently listening to three (3) audiobooks at the same time:

  • Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin
  • Beyond Willpower by Alexander Loyd
  • Blue Labyrinth by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Alright, I am not actually listening to three (3) audiobooks at once (that would be insane) but I have three different audiobooks loaded on my iPhone and I juggle between the three of them depending on my mood.

It is all the fault of my local library (in true addiction you are supposed to blame someone else, right?) for providing an endless supply of downloadable audiobooks through the Overdrive app. If your library has digital downloads, and you enjoy audiobooks, you should take advantage of this free community resource.

Disadvantages of free audiobooks from the library include only being able to keep them for 14 days (they expire from your device after 14 days) and your library may not have exact book you want. I like the pressure of 14 days though – it makes me actually finish up the audiobook. Usually I have books going at various staggered intervals where one expires in 5 days while the other expires in 11 days.

I have been in the middle of a thrilling audiobook and then boom – it expires – and there are other library patrons who have it on hold so I cannot renew it. I end up having to put the audiobook on hold and wait my turn to finish up my book. But that is okay – it is worth it (and it is free!)

Happy Listening!

2 thoughts on “Addicted to Audiobooks”

  1. Oh you’re lucky 🙂
    There’s no public library where I live – it’s the first place I’ve ever lived in the world that doesn’t have a public library, and I’m very disappointed. There’s something like a private library; a small coffee shop sized place with a few bookcases where you’d have to pay a yearly fee *plus* a fee per book you rent-I-mean-borrow. Their selection is crappy and of course nothing at all in English.
    I get by – by reading what I have at home and what I find online. There are some great collections of ebooks (like those by Cory Doctorow) but audiobooks are still a leap ahead of me. I don’t think I would be able to concentrate on the text – or if I do, then I’d not pay attention to what *else* I’d be doing. I’m a singletasker…!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No public library!?!?! You must move right away! You could listen to the serial podcasts they have for free through iTunes now – ongoing stories fiction and non fiction but just a small section of the story at a time.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.